Longines Legend Diver Watch Review [Reference L3.674.4.50.6] – A Tribute To A Classic 1960 Dive Watch

By |2018-06-12T23:50:46+00:00Jan 9th, 2018|Categories: Watches|Tags: , |6 Comments

Longines Legend Diver Reference L3.674.4

The Longines Legend Diver is a truly vintage-inspired timepiece that honors the classic Longines Reference 7042 dive watch from 1960.

I recently had the pleasure of wearing the Legend Diver Reference L3.674.4.50.6 and quite enjoyed the overall experience on the wrist, as well as the opportunity to learn more about the history of the Longines brand.

The following watch review covers everything you need to know about the Legend Diver 10th Anniversary edition with a new Milanese bracelet including:

Check Price [Amazon]

Quick History Of The Legend Diver Series

Longines Legend Diver Series From Heritage Collection

Longines’ first foray into dive watches began in the late 1950’s with the release of the Nautilus Skin Diver. Then, in 1960, the Swiss watchmaker followed up on the Nautilus Skin Diver with the launch of another dive watch – Longines Reference 7042.

In many ways the Reference 7042 was similar to the first Nautilus Skin Diver aesthetically, but it was slightly larger in size and included some notable features which are discussed below. After its release, the Reference 7042 became a popular dive watch for the Longines brand and would ultimately become the inspiration for the Longines Legend Diver series.

Longines Releases The Legend Diver In 2007

The Longines Legend Diver, also known as the “LLD,” was first released in 2007 as part of the Heritage Collection and paid tribute to the original Longines Reference 7042 from 1960.

Reviving a vintage watch by reissuing a contemporary model is by no means an easy task. Adding or removing too much can quickly detract from the character of a classic timepiece and defeat the purpose of re-producing the watch in the first place.

That is why I am always impressed when I see a successful re-production like the Legend Diver that satisfies the vintage enthusiasts and collector, as well as the contemporary watch wearer.

The Legend Diver has become a particularly popular timepiece among vintage watch enthusiasts precisely because it maintains so much of the aesthetic design seen in the original timepiece from 1960 while improving on performance and practicality for modern use.

Since the first reissue of the Legend Diver in 2007 the Longines brand has released several other editions of the watch including a 2009 reissue and its latest 10th Anniversary edition in 2017.

READ
The Longines Avigation Type A-7 1935 - Watch Review On The Wrist With Exact Specs, Dimensions & Price

Longines Legend Diver Reference L3.674.4.50.6 (10th Anniversary Edition) With Milanese Bracelet

To celebrate the success of the Legend Diver the brand released a special 10th Anniversary edition (Reference L3.674.4.50.6) with a new Milanese mesh bracelet in 2017.

The rest of this article details my experience wearing the 10th Anniversary edition of the Legend Diver as well as some interesting comparisons between this model and the timepiece from 1960 that inspired it.

Technical Specifications Of The Watch

Reissue of Legend Diver Watch From Longines Watches

The following list includes some of the main specifications of the Legend Diver watch:

  • Reference Number: L3.674.4.50.6
  • Movement Type: Automatic
  • Movement Caliber: Longines Caliber L633 (ETA2824-2)
  • Case Diameter: 42mm
  • Case Thickness: 14mm
  • Case Material: Stainless Steel
  • Bracelet Material: Stainless Steel
  • Bracelet Buckle: Triple Safety Folding Clasp
  • Bracelet Type: Milanese
  • Power Reserve: 38 Hours
  • Water Resistance: 30 Bar / 300 Meters

On The Wrist Review, Key Features & Photos

Longines Legend Diver Watch With Milanese Mesh Bracelet

After wearing the Legend Diver for a few days I must say I really enjoyed the experience and was very impressed with the watch overall.

I have to commend Longines for staying true to the design of the original model from 1960 when it comes to the Legend Diver reissue. The watch has an undeniably vintage look yet it is quite versatile as it can be seamlessly integrated into a contemporary wardrobe.

Longines has also done a great job of improving upon some of the the technical aspects of the original watch timepiece without detracting from its character.

The Size Of The Watch

Legend Diver Watch From Longines With Cup Of Cappucino

The Legend Diver has a 42mm case diameter and 14mm thickness which is consistent with Reference 7042.

I tend to wear relatively smaller watches so I thought that this watch may be too large at first. However, I quickly realized that the watch actually “wears” much smaller on the wrist and does not appear as big as I imaginged.

After a few hours of wearing the Legend Diver I didn’t think twice about the size. In fact, I came to appreciate the fact that the Longines brand decided to stay true to the dimensions of the original timepiece from 1960 when designing the Legend Diver reissue.

A Simple & Elegant Dial

One of my favorite things about the Legend Diver is the simple design of the dial.

READ
Omega Speedmaster Dark Side Of The Moon Review & Price

Longines Legend Diver Date Watch Face

Off-white hour markers and indices are set against a deep black lacquered dial making the watch very easy to read. I particularly like the off-white color which accomplishes the readability that is so important in a dive watch while giving the timepiece a unique and undeniably retro look.

There is also a small amount of Super-LumiNova on the hour hand, minute hand and indices to enhance readability at nighttime.

Keeping with the overall simple design, the words “Automatic” and “Longines” are the only instances of text that you’ll find on the dial. The rest of the important information about the watch, such as the reference number and water resistance, is engraved on the back of the case.

The dial, which is encased under a domed sapphire crystal glass, also features a small date window (discussed below) where the 3 o’clock hour marker would be.

Added Date Window

Arguably the most controversial element of the Legend Diver is the added date complication.

Longines Reference 7042 did not have a date complication, but one has been added in the more recent editions of the Legend Diver at the 3 o’clock position.

Window Date On Longines Legend Dive Watch

It’s worth noting that the first edition of Legend Diver reissue that was released in 2007 did not have a date function and it wasn’t until the 2009 edition of the Legend Diver that the date window was added.

Note: The Legend Diver from 2007 is often referred to as the Longines Legend Diver “No Date” and is very popular among vintage watch enthusiasts.

Some vintage watch enthusiasts will be quick to criticize the added date window arguing that it is not true to the watch’s original design. This may be true, but ultimately the date complication has made this watch much more practical and I think that Longines did a great job in keeping with the overall aesthetic design when adding it to the dial.

As you can see in the photo above, the date wheel is black and the printed date numbers are consistent with the off-white color seen on the rest of the dial. As a result, the addition of the date window comes across as a very subtle addition to the watch face as a whole.

Internal Bi-directional Rotating Bezel

Probably the most notable feature of the Legend Diver is the internal rotating bezel. Just like Reference 7042, the Legend Diver features a bi-directional rotating bezel inside the case.

READ
Photo Shoot With Govberg Watches (Featuring 11 Luxury Swiss Watches)

Longines Legend Diver Watch With Milanese Bracelet

Check Price [Amazon]

The internal bezel gives the watch a distinct look and is a unique feature that differentiates it from many other dive watches with external bezels. While the rotating bezel is intended for divers to track their air supply while under water, it can just as easily be used for other purposes.

Note: The bezel can be rotated in both directions by using the upper screw-down crown located at the 2 o’clock position. The lower screw-down crown located at the 4 o’clock position is used to set the time and manually wind the watch.

Super Compressor & Case Back With Embossed Scuba Diver

One of the most notable features of Reference 7042 is the use of a Super Compressor case and Longines maintained that key feature in the reissues.

The Super Compressor method, developed by the Swiss manufacturer E. Piquerez SA (EPSA), was used in many dive watches from reputable watchmakers between the 1950’s and 1970’s. The patented case sealing method uses the increasing hydro-static pressure that is created as a watch is submerged further under water to create an increasingly tighter seal on the case. In other words, the deeper a diver goes under water with the watch, the tighter the seal becomes on the case.

I also really like the case back which has the same exact embossed image of a scuba diver holding a spear gun that was seen on Longines’ original Diver Reference 7042.

Longines Legend Diver Case Back And Melanese Bracelet

Additional information about the watch is also engraved on the stainless steel case back surrounding the embossed scuba diver including the water resistance, name of the model, reference number and the words “Swiss Made.”

Milanese Mesh Bracelet & Other Strap Options

Longines Legend Diver Watch On Wrist

The 10th Anniversary edition of the Legend Diver features a new Milanese mesh bracelet made of stainless steel which pairs very nicely with the stainless steel case for a look that is both sleek and retro.

This is a nice addition to previous editions of the Legend Diver series which included either a black rubber strap or a black synthetic nylon strap with contrast stitching.

Furthermore, the Milanese mesh bracelet is very comfortable on the wrist and is one of the many elements that helps to differentiate this watch without being “tacky” or flashy.

READ
Rolex "Batman" GMT-Master II (116710BLNR) - Review On The Wrist & What's In The Box

In my opinion, the Milanese bracelet gives the watch a distinctive retro look that I love. However, if you are inclined you could easily swap the Milanese bracelet out for the black straps mentioned above or even a custom leather strap to give the watch a completely different look for a variety of occasions.

Watch Price: How Much Does The Legend Diver Cost?

This particular reference of the Longines Legend Diver retails for USD $2,400 and it can be purchased on the official Longines E-Shop.

However, the Legend Diver is also produced in two other executions which come with different strap options and are sold at different price points. The table below shows the suggested retail prices for different references of the Longines Legend Diver watch:

Official Longines Legend Diver Retail Price

Strap / Bracelet Reference Number Retail Price
Black Textured Leather Strap L3.674.4.50.0 $2,300
Stainless Steel Milanese Bracelet L3.674.4.50.6 $2,400
Black Rubber Strap L3.674.4.50.9 $2,650

You can buy a brand new Legend Diver at the prices shown above through the official Longines E-Shop, but it’s also possible to find the watch for less on many online watch retailers.

Value For Money

When it comes to the price of a watch I always keep in mind the value that I am getting for the money being spent. After wearing the Longines Legend Diver for a few weeks I can confidently say that watch offers exceptional value for its price and is quite affordable when compared to most high-end dive watches.

Check Price [Amazon]

Final Thoughts

Overall I quite enjoyed my time wearing the Longines Legend Diver L3.674.4.50.6 and was reluctant to give it up at the end. If you are looking to get into dive watches or enjoy vintage watches in general then I think the Legend Diver is a fantastic option that offers great value for money.

Longines Legend Diver Reference L3.674.4.50.6
Reviewed by Trevor Guilday, on .
"A great vintage dive watch at an affordable price! The Milanese bracelet is a nice upgrade to the previous editions of the watch."
Rating: 5.0 ★★★★★

As always, let us know what you think about the Legend Diver in the comments below!

About the Author:

Paul Anthony is the founder and creative director at Bespoke Unit. He has had a life long affair with design, watches, fragrance and clothing. Originally from England, he now lives in the USA splitting time between NYC & Philly. Favoring "British Style", but has an overall eclectic taste.

6 Comments

  1. Eddie January 10, 2018 at 10:57 am - Reply

    Hi Trevor,

    Great review of a great watch.

    It really offers outstanding value, like many of the Longines timepieces.

    Thanks,

    Eddie

    • Trevor Guilday January 11, 2018 at 10:40 am - Reply

      Hi Eddie,

      Thanks for reading and I appreciate the kind words!

      I couldn’t agree with you any more with regard to the Legend Diver. It’s one of the many watches from Longines that offers exceptional value for money. Definitely among my top picks from the brand and one of my favorite timepieces in general!

      What do you think about the new Milanese bracelet? I’m a big fan as I think it really helps bring out that vintage retro vibe that this watch is so well known for.

      Regards,

      Trevor

  2. Hff February 3, 2018 at 2:24 pm - Reply

    Hi Trevor,

    Very great review of LLD which I am considering buying.
    This watch can be used on the beach as well in the boardroom.

    How is the accuracy of this watch? Does it go to fast or to slow or is it inside the acceptance which is..?

    Best Regards,
    Howard

    • Paul Anthony February 15, 2018 at 11:04 am - Reply

      Dear Howard,

      I just spoke with Trevor.

      He has it on the wrist for a week, and there was no noticeable plus or minus in timekeeping.

      These modern watches are pretty robust!

      Cheers, Paul

  3. Sam June 5, 2018 at 3:30 am - Reply

    Love the review! My wife is getting me one as a wedding present. I have done significant research and opted for the LLD. Close competitors were the Oris Sixty Five and the Tudor Pelagos.

    My question is, can the internal bezel be operated under water? My intuition would make me reluctant to unscrew the crown underwater?

    • Paul Anthony June 5, 2018 at 6:26 pm - Reply

      Dear Sam,

      All three are great watches!

      I would 100% NOT unscrew the crown under water (I don’t know for a fact, so maybe reach out to Longiens), as I’d assume it would compromise the seal and risk the watch.

      If that is something you need, then maybe a different watch with an external bezel.

      Thanks – Paul

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.